
   WHEN THE R2 ENDS A RALLY  

The focus of this document is to outline what happens when the R2 blows their whistle to end a 

rally.  

The following outlines the actions taken by the R2 in three specific instances: when there is (1) a net 

fault; (2) a center line violation; and, (3) an antenna violation on the R2's end of the net during a 

rally.  Then, the subsequent actions by the R1 are explained.  

There is a different mindset in these instances, unlike when the R1 ends a rally with a whistle.  The 

R2 is NOT deciding who won the rally.  The R2 IS providing information to the R1, and then the R1 

makes a determination whether to accept the R2's report of a fault or not.  Only the R1 can decide if 

a point is to be awarded.  (The R2 NEVER performs the Point Signal before the R1. NEVER.)  

R1s need to give their R2 the opportunity to perform their job.  Specifically, R1s must hesitate a 

brief moment when they see one of these faults occur.  Hesitating gives the R2 the chance to blow 

their whistle and own the process.  If an R1 blows their whistle the split second they see a net 

violation occur, for example, it looks to coaches and players that the R1 is not focused on their own 

job of following the ball and that the R1 is doing the R2's job.  

Respect your R2 and let them whistle one of these faults.  If the R2 didn't see the fault and the R1 

knows it occurred, then, after the brief hesitation, the R1 can end the rally.  

---------------------------- 

I .  When the R2 whistles to end a rally: 

     A. For a Net Fault: 

     1.  Whistle first! 

         2.  Step out to the side of the team at fault. 

         3.  Show the Net Fault Signal.  [Signal 6] 

         4.  Display the number of the player at fault. 

 

     B. For a Center Line Violation: 

         1.  Whistle first! 

         2.  Step out to the side of the team at fault. 



         3.  Show the Center Line Violation Signal.  [Signal 2] 

      *** NOTE:  We do  NOT  show the player number for this fault! 

(As with any situation, you can tell the coach the number, but ONLY if they ask for it.) 

 

    C. For an Antenna Violation on the R2's side DURING the rally AFTER a 

successful serve-receive:  

         1.  Whistle first! 

         2.  Step out to the side of the team that caused the Antenna Fault. 

         3.  ONLY THEN, show the "Out" Signal.  [Signal 13] 

   *** NOTE:  As we all know, sometimes the R1 does not know who caused the 

ball to hit the antenna when there is a classic "bang-bang" play.  As R2s, WE have to 

stop rushing the "Out" signal the moment the ball hits the antenna.  WHERE WE 

STAND is our clear communication to the R1 telling them which team caused the fault.  

DON'T RUSH the "Out" signal.  Step to the fault side FIRST in a calm, efficient 

manner, and only then signal "Out." 

---------------------- 

II .  HOW SHOULD THE R1 act after the above scenarios? 

  A. For a Net Fault whistled by the R2: 

            1. WAIT (WAIT!) for the R2 to go through the "Net Fault" steps above. 

            2. Once the R2 displays the number of the player committing the net fault: 

                2a. FIRST, if the R1 agrees with the call, they signal POINT. (Signal 17) 

                2b. THEN, display the number of the player at fault. 

 



     B. For a Center Line Violation whistled by the R2: 

          1. WAIT (WAIT!) for the R2 to go through the "Center Line" steps above. 

          2. Once the R2 has signaled the Center Line violation: 

                  2a. If the R1 agrees with the call, they signal POINT. (Signal 17) 

(And the R1 is DONE. Again, we do NOT show the player number for Center Line 

faults.) 

 

      C.  For an Antenna Violation whistled by the R2: 

           1. WAIT (WAIT!) for the R2 to go through the "Antenna Violation" steps above. 

           2. AFTER the R2 signals "Out": 

                  2a. If the R1 agrees with the call, they signal POINT (Signal 17). 

------------------------ 

IMPORTANT REMINDER:  In all of the R1 scenarios above, the R1 

NEVER repeats the fault signal. 

+ R1s:  keep it simple...if you agree with the R2's call, just signal "POINT",  and in the 

one (and ONLY) situation when there is a net violation, follow the Point signal with the 

player number. 

++ Either referee can answer a coach's or captain's question about what happened if 

requested, but R1s should not be repeating the R2's fault signals as part of normal 

procedure. 

+++ Let's show true teamwork as we coordinate between R1s and R2s.  As R1, many 

times we know why the R2 whistled a violation, but as noted above, let the R2 

communicate their information to the R1 first before signalling "point."  If we are 

already signalling "Point" and (for a net violation) showing the player number before the 



R2 even has time to step out, let alone communicate via signalling what happened, it 

can be perceived by coaches and others as minimizing and disrespecting the efforts of 

our partner.  Coaches DO NOTICE how we work and coordinate together.  Let's give 

them a professional display of coordination! 
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